Birth to 3 Years



OVERVIEW

 

Each individual learns and grows in his or her own way. For example, some children begin walking or talking at an earlier or later age than other children. Sometimes this leaves parents with questions or concerns about how their child is developing.

 

When you have questions or concerns about your child’s development, a good first step is to speak to your family physician. However, many people do not realize that they should also contact their school district.

 

The Millard School District employs specialists in early childhood development. An evaluation of your child’s skills may be recommended. The evaluation results will help determine if there is a delay in your child’s skills and whether early childhood special education may be appropriate. There is no charge for the evaluation or for services provided.

 

An important feature of Early Childhood Special Education is collaboration with the family. If needed, an Individual Family Service Plan or Individual Education Program is developed with the family and the appropriate service providers.

 

Eligible children may receive special education services in their home, daycare, private preschool, or special education preschool classrooms located in five Millard elementary schools.

 

Special education service providers will work with you and your child and may include one or more of the following: Early Childhood Special Education, Speech/Language Pathologist, Occupational Therapist, Physical Therapist, School Psychologist, Teacher of the Hearing Impaired, Vision Consultant, Augmentative Communication Specialist, and School Audiologist.




FAMILY PROGRAMS AND RESOURCES - Early Childhood Family Center

 

Andrea Kidd                                      Linda Walters

Teacher                                             Teacher

alkidd@mpsomaha.org                     lmwalters@mpsomaha.org

 


FAMILY RESOURCE CENTER

 

Meagan Basye

Family Specialist

mlbasye@mpsomaha.org


baby smiling


BUFFET EARLY CHILDHOOD  INSTITUTE  STAFF


Sandoz Elementary                                   Cody Elementary

-Helen Evans-Hicks                                    -Laura Hightower

Home Visitor                                                Home Visitor

hmevans@mpsomaha.org                       lshightower@mpsomaha.org

  

-Eileen Cabrera                                           -Brittney White

Family Facilitator                                        Family Facilitator 

ecabrera@mpsomaha.org                       blwhite@mpsomaha.org


 

 

SIXPENCE PROGRAM

 

Home Visitor

402-715-6392


   

baby picture

STAFF

 

Early intervention specialists who provide special education services

to eligible children and their families may include an audiologist,

occupational therapist, physical therapist, school psychologist, special

education teacher, speech-language pathologist, teacher of the hearing

impaired, and a visual consultant.


Andrea Parsons

Speech/Language Pathologist

alparsons@mpsomaha.org

 

Christine Bukowski

Speech/Language Pathologist

clbukowski@mpsomaha.org

 

Kris Bamesberger

Speech/Language Pathologist

kabamesberger@mpsomaha.org

 

Denise Larson

Speech/Language Pathologist

dalarson@mpsomaha.org

 

Bethany Ray

Occupational Therapist

bbray@mpsomaha.org

 

Amy Houlton

Occupational Therapist

ahoulton@mpsomaha.org

 

Maggie Hebenstreit

Physical Therapist

mahebenstreit@mpsomaha.org

 

Kelly Ealy

Physical Therapist

kdealy@mpsomaha.org

 

Michelle Leenerts

Audiologist

mmleenerts@mpsomaha.org

 

Jean Tooher

School Psychologist

jmtooher@mpsomaha.org


Tiffany Bock-Smith

Occupational Therapist

tmbocksmith@mpsomaha.org

Laura Innes

Birth-3 Special Educator

lminnes@mpsomaha.org

 

Kim Bolan

Birth-3 Special Educator

jkmbolan@mpsomaha.org

 

Deidre Reeh

Birth-3 Special Educator

dmreeh@mpsomaha.org

 

Cheryl Decker

Birth-3 Special Educator

crdecker@mpsomaha.org

 

Cheryl Custard

Occupational Therapist

clcustard@mpsomaha.org

 

Christina LaGrone

Occupational Therapist

castackens@mpsomaha.org

 

Amy Shattuck

Physical Therapist

alshattuck@mpsomaha.org

 

Jean Daigle

Physical Therapist

jtdaigle@mpsomaha.org

 

Carrie Swaney

Vision Teacher

caswaney@mpsomaha.org

 

Darla Bell

Vision Teacher

dbell@mpsomaha.org

 

Cindy Barr-McNair

Vision Teacher

cbarr-mc@mpsomaha.org

 

Chris Janovec

School Psychologist

cajanovec@mpsomaha.org


Wee Screening


C